Marquis Wu's Shrine
Marquis Wu’s Shrine is situated in the southern
suburbs of Chengdu. It was built by Li Xiong of the Western Jin
dynasty (265-316AD) in memory of Zhu Geliang, prime minister of
the Shu Kingdom (220-263AD). He was also known as Marquis Wu and
renowned for his wisdom and dedication to duty.
During the early Ming dynasty (1368-1644AD), the
shrine was merged with the Temple of Liu Bei, but the name of the
shrine has remained the same. Renovations took place during the
Qing dynasty (1644-1911AD) and buildings include Liu Bei Hall and
Zhu Geliang Hall.
In the shrine there are 47 historic figures and
sculptures of the Shu Kingdom, some 40 steel and stone tablets,
more than 30 plaques and dozens of ancient tripods, incense burners,
bells, drums and other relics.