Jinshan rises on the southern bank of the Yangzi
River to the northwest of Zhenjiang. The hill is famous for the
Jingshan Temple, which dates back to the Eastern Jin Dynasty (317-420).
Built against the hill, the temple seems to merge into the hill
and is described as "the temple that embraces the hill".
At the peak of Jinshan is a 30 meter (98ft) tall Cishou Pagoda
that was built in 1900 to celebrate the Empress Cixi’s birthday.
This octagonal pagoda gives a panoramic view of the town, surrounding
hills, fish ponds and farmlands.
Liu Yun Pavilion is also found at Jinshan and an
inscription by Qing emperor Kang Xi saying that the pavilion "takes
in the river and heaven at one glance" is an apt description of
There are also 4 caves at the top of the hill,
including the famous Buddhist Sea Cave (fo hai) and White
Dragon Cave (bailong) which prominently appear in the classic
Chinese children’s story ‘The Story of the White Snake’.
At the base of the hill is the Zhongling Spring or the First Spring Under Heaven, so named because the sweet water is perfect for brewing tea. There is a teahouse next to the spring for visitors to taste the tea themselves.