2km (1 mile) east of the Sun Yatsen Mausoleum stands
the Linggu, or Soul Valley Temple. The temple was originally founded
in 514 and later moved to the present site under the orders of emperor
Hongwu in 1381.
The complex is famous for the Beamless Hall, a
22 meter (72ft) high brick building constructed in 1381 without
a single beam or inch of wood. The hall originally housed Buddhist
sutras before the Taiping rebels converted it into a fortress, and
today it is an exhibition hall. There are also other pavilions and
pagodas to visit in this active temple.