Daguan Tower, also known as Grand View Tower, is located at the south end of Daguan Park. The pavilion was built in 1690 on the site of a temple dedicated to Guanyin, Goddess of Mercy. The present pavilion was renovated in 1866 and is a pretty pagoda structure.
It has 3 stories covered with yellow glazed square tiles and has a "grand view" of Dianchi Lake from the top storey. On the front pillars of the pavilion there are a pair of scrolls containing a poetic couplet by the Qing dynasty poet Sun Ranweng. The couplets are possibly the longest set of Chinese couplets and describe the beauty of Kunming and the history of Yunnan.