Liurong Temple was built in 537AD and was given
its current name by the writer and calligrapher Su Dongpo (1037-1101)
of the Song dynasty. When he visited the temple he so admired the
6 banyan trees in the temple’s courtyard that he immediately wrote
two characters liu rong (6 banyan trees) on stone slabs.
These steles can still be seen just inside the temple gates.
The temple is well preserved and has a very impressive
17 story pagoda, the Hua Ta or Flower Pagoda which is 58 meters
(190ft) high. The wooden pagoda was built in the 11th century and
features beautiful carvings and balconies.
In the main Huineng Hall there are 3 17th century
giant bronze Buddha statues.